The Jackal and The Gazelle

I am the gazelle graceful and delicate
You are the jackal
You crouch in tall grasses waiting to pounce
You see your chance and you take it
You tear at my flesh
I feel your teeth sink deep into my body
I can hear my bones breaking
But death does not claim me
I am battered and scared, but I am wiser
And you are still hungry
I know you now, you can no longer hide
I can sense your presence
Some will fall to be your prey, But I will no longer be the hunted.
Those who are vulnerable will know your name because I will speak it.
You can no longer hurt me physically but I am emotionally scared
Those who love me will know I have done battle for they will see my scares
But they will also know I have been victorious

Leave a Reply

