The Sea Merchants Wife

How grand and stately are her walls
Among the pine trees standing tall
The castle on the moor

Across the moors the waters edge
Here I sit apoun the ledge
The sea rises to meet the shore
In its depth the rocks do soar
In the sky there flies a dove
Who is also waiting for there love

Oh my love have you deserted me?
If this is true, unchain my heart and set me free
In the distance I see a fleet of three
But they never reach the shore
For they are ghost and are no more

In the night, the fire light dances off the walls
And I hear the faintness of your voice that echos in the halls
How distant is your heart from mine
Across the sea vast has time

The sun the stars the shining moon
There light creeps softly in our room
In the stillness of the night there is no sound
Only loneliness and heart ach abound

In our bed I lay awake
I hug your pillow till day break
How many tears I have cried
And in my dispar I do sigh
In the distance I can hear the roar
Of thundering waves that meet the shore
In my heart my love I do store
To share with you for ever more

Leave a Reply

