The Thorn

Oh your wild unyielding heart
The one I could not tame
Tis only Heaven that keeps us apart
Fill my heart with words of love
On the wings of the Angels sent down from above
Like the sea you still sing your song
With the sound of the waves forever strong
My crying heart cries out in pain
Apoun my face tears fall like rain
With your phantom lips you taste
The tears of my love that lay in waste
In my mind the sorrow stays
To my death and to my grave
There is no happiness in my soul
In my heart the emptiness grows
Among the thorn-bush the song bird sings
Who’s body trembles with each beat of its wings
To my breast I feel the thorn
And with my heart I do mourn
My true inseparable faithful love

Leave a Reply

